• 2260 Old Rex Morrow Road, Morrow, GA 30260
  • Phone: 770-473-3232 | Fax: 770-473-3233
Last item for navigation
WIDA Standards

WIDA is a consortium of states dedicated to the design and implementation of high standards and equitable educational opportunities for English language learners. Originally established through a federal grant, the WIDA Consortium now consists of fifteen partner states originating with Wisconsin, Delaware and Arkansas. Georgia joined the fifteen state consortium in 2006.

The WIDA Consortium has developed English language proficiency standards and an English language proficiency test aligned with those standards (ACCESS for ELLs). WIDA Standards have six levels of English language proficiency:

  • 1 – Entering

  • 2 – Beginning/Emerging

  • 3 – Developing

  • 4 – Expanding

  • 5 – Bridging

  • 6 – Reaching

Descriptors for the Levels of English Language Proficiency

For more information on the WIDA English Language Proficiency Standards for English Language Learners in Kindergarten through Grade 12, please access the websites listed below.

WIDA Website:

WIDA Overview Page:

WIDA Classroom Framework:

WIDA Large-scale Framework:

WIDA Combined Framework: