Last item for navigation
Board of Education
Ms. Jessie Goree, Chair

Ms. Jessie Goree
(District 3), Board Chair


Mr. Benjamin Straker
(District 9), Vice-Chair


Ms. Jasmine Bowles
(District 1)


Mr. Mark Christmas
(District 2)


Ms. Victoria Williams
(District 4)

Dee Haney

Dr. Deatrice Dee Haney
(District 5)


Ms. Mary Baker
(District 6)


Ms. Sabrina Hill
(District 7)


Ms. Joy Tellis Cooper
(District 8)

The Clayton County Board of Education establishes and approves the policies that govern the Clayton County Public School system. The Board consists of nine members, representing six geographical districts.  One person is elected per district to represent the schools in a given district for a four-year term.

Under the provisions of the new board charter, approved by the Georgia Legislature in 2003, Board members elect a new chair and vice-chair every two years. The day-to-day administration of the school district is the responsibility of the Superintendent, who is appointed by the Board.

Upcoming Meetings & Events