• 1058 Fifth Avenue, Jonesboro, GA 30236
  • Phone: 770-473-2700 ext.700290
Last item for navigation
Equitable Services for Private Schools

                                                  Katrina Thompson
                                               Director of Federal Programs
                                    [email protected]
770-473-2700 ext.700290

The Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA), reauthorized as Every Student Succeeds Act of 2015 (ESSA), provides benefits to private school students, teachers, and other education personnel, including those in religiously affiliated schools. Clayton County Public Schools provides eligible children attending private schools, their teachers, and their families with Title I, Title II, and/or Title IV equitable services or other benefits that are equitable to those provided to eligible public-school children, their teachers, and their families.

According to law, the Clayton County Public Schools must maintain control of Federal funds (Title I, Title II, Title IV, and CARES), materials, programs, and equipment. The school system is responsible for the consultation process, teacher hiring and supervision, student selection process, delivery of instruction, end-of-year program evaluation, providing equitable services, spending and obligating Federal funds, and ensuring that the program complies with requirements.  

The process of consultation spans two years and begins annually in October, at which time notifications are sent to all private schools that serve Clayton County Public Schools students inviting them to participate in the Equitable Services Program.  If the private school chooses to participate in the program for the following year, the Director of Federal Programs provides ongoing consultation throughout the year.

Clayton County Public Schools provides Equitable Services to the following private schools:

  • Camp Jewell House
  • Dar-Un-Noor Academy
  • Decatur Adventist Junior Academy
  • Hope Christian Academy
  • Light of the World Christian Academy
  • Mohammed Schools of Atlanta
  • North Henry Academy
  • Our Lady of Mercy Catholic High School
  • Our Lady of Victory Catholic School
  • Saint John the Evangelist Catholic School
  • Saint Peter Claver Regional Catholic School

Clayton County Public Schools Mail - MetroArea Equitable Services Consultation Invitation for the 2022-2023 School Year.pdf

SY22-23 MetroArea Initial Consultation for Equitable Services 11.21 (1).pdf

FY23 Private School Consultation Letter - 2nd Invitation December 2021.pdf

FY23 Private School Poverty Eligibility List.xlsx